Dark Fire-9781447285847

Dark Fire: Shardlake 2

Regular price
£8.99
Sale price
£8.99
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Author(s): Sansom, C. J.,
Binding: Paperback,
Date of Publication: 16/07/2015,
Pagination: 608 pages,
Series: The Shardlake Series,
Imprint: Pan Books,
Published By: PAN MACMILLAN ,
Book Classification: Historical mysteries
ISBN13\EAN\SKU: 9781447285847
Description: 

Winner of the CWA Ellis Peters Historical Dagger, Dark Fire is the second thrilling book in C. J. Sansom's number one bestselling Shardlake series, perfect for fans of Hilary Mantel and Philippa Gregory.

England, 1540: Matthew Shardlake, believing himself out of favour with Thomas Cromwell, is busy trying to maintain his legal practice and keep a low profile. But his involvement with a murder case, defending a girl accused of brutally murdering her young cousin, brings him once again into contact with the king's chief minister - and a new assignment...

The secret of Greek Fire, the legendary substance with which the Byzantines destroyed the Arab navies, has been lost for centuries.

Now an official of the Court of Augmentations has discovered the formula in the library of a dissolved London monastery. When Shardlake is sent to recover it, he finds the official and his alchemist brother horribly murdered - the formula has disappeared. Now Shardlake must follow the trail of Greek Fire across Tudor London, while trying at the same time to prove his young client's innocence.

But very soon he discovers nothing is as it seems...