Mortmain Hall-9781788546126

Mortmain Hall

Regular price
£18.99
Sale price
£18.99
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Author(s): Edwards, Martin,
Binding: Hardback,
Date of Publication: 02/04/2020,
Pagination: 416 pages,
Series: N/A,
Imprint: Head of Zeus,
Published By: Head of Zeus,
Book Classification: Historical mysteries, Crime & mystery
ISBN13\EAN\SKU: 9781788546126

Description:
A superb Golden Age mystery packed with twists, from the winner of the Diamond Dagger 2020.

ENGLAND, 1930. Grieving widows are a familiar sight on London's Necropolis Railway. So when an elegant young woman in a black veil boards the funeral train, nobody guesses her true purpose.

But Rachel Savernake is not one of the mourners. She hopes to save a life - the life of a man who is supposed to be cold in the grave. But then a suspicious death on the railway track spurs her on to investigate a sequence of baffling mysteries: a death in a blazing car; a killing in a seaside bungalow; a tragic drowning in a frozen lake.

Rachel believes that the cases are connected - but what possible link can there be?Rich, ruthless and obsessed with her own dark notions of justice, she will not rest until she has discovered the truth.

To find the answers to her questions she joins a house party on the eerie and remote North Yorkshire coast at Mortmain Hall, an estate. Her inquiries are helped - and sometimes hindered - by the impetuous young journalist Jacob Flint and an eccentric female criminologist with a dangerous fascination with perfect crimes...

Mortmain Hall is at once a gripping thriller and a classic whodunit puzzle: a Golden Age Gothic mystery, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Dorothy L. Sayers.